Now That’s What The Dilemma Calls Music 2011!

Confession time: at the end of every year, I make a mix modeled after the abhorrent Now That’s What I Call Music series.

These aren’t mixes of the best songs of the year — they’re mixes of the best songs of the year run through my own “Now”-style filter. These are the hit singles that play on the imaginary radio station in my alternate universe where people have good taste. So it’s a CD-length (approximately) playlist of my favorite songs of 2011, heavily weighted toward the upbeat, the singles and the songs I played over and over again throughout the year.

This year, I’m going to share my mix with you. Because I’m open like that.

By way of comparison, the most recent actual Now That’s What I Call Music compilation features Nickelback, Lady Antebellum, Maroon 5 and David Guetta. As Lana from Archer would say: “Noooope.” This is better.

Get (almost) the whole thing via a Spotify playlist.

1. Fucked Up/Queen of Hearts

2. The Strokes/Under Cover of Darkness

3. Beastie Boys/Make Some Noise

4. The Joy Formidable/Whirring

5. Girls/Honey Bunny

6. Wild Flag/Romance

7. Okkervil River/Rider

8. The Vaccines/If You Wanna

9. Dropkick Murphys/Peg O’ My Heart

10. Mates of State/Palomino

11. Cults/You Know What I Mean

12. Dum Dum Girls/Bedroom Eyes

13. The Decemberists/Calamity Song

14. R.E.M./Oh My Heart

15. St. Vincent/Cruel

16. Jay-Z and Kanye West/Niggas in Paris

(Also: this)

17. Beyoncé/Countdown

18. Childish Gambino/Freaks and Geeks

19. Cut Copy/Need You Now

20. The Antlers/I Don’t Want Love

21. Lana Del Rey/Video Games

22. M83/Midnight City

Special Bonus: Here’s a video of Patrick Stickles from Titus Andronicus performing “Video Games” in his parents’ house. It’s one of the most endearing things I’ve seen all year.

1 Comment

Filed under Music Has AIDS, The Dilemma

One response to “Now That’s What The Dilemma Calls Music 2011!

  1. Your hatred for The Show Goes On truly knows no bounds. Hopefully, Jesus will cure your withered heart in the New Year.

Leave a Reply

